Professor Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

We are pleased to announce that Professor Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett was elected to the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Established in 1780, the Academy is one of the oldest honorary societies and a leading center for policy research in the United States. Election to the Academy is considered one of the nation's highest honors. Among its founders and members were such luminaries as John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, Ralph Waldo Emerson, John F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King, Jr., Margaret Mead, and John Updike. Today, there are 250 Nobel Prize and 60 Pulitzer Prize winners among the Academy’s members.

We would like to congratulate Professor Kirshenblatt-Gimblett on this wonderful distinction.


foto: Marta Kuśmierz