Marian Turski elected Chairman of the POLIN Museum Council

During its first meeting, the newly appointed POLIN Museum Council elected Marian Turski to be the Council’s Chairman. Deputy chairwoman and chairman were also elected: Ms Aldona Machnowska-Góra, Deputy Mayor of Warsaw, and Mr Artur Hofman, head of the Social-Cultural Association of Jews in Poland.

Mr Turski will continue to act as the POLIN Council’s Chairman for the incoming term (2022-2026). He has held the Chairman’s post since the establishment of POLIN Museum.

The POLIN Council consists of representatives of the three Museum co-founders, namely: the Association of the Jewish Historical Institute of Poland, the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage and the City of Warsaw:

  1. Artur Hofman
  2. Ronald S. Lauder
  3. Aldona Machnowska-Góra
  4. Ewa Malinowska-Grupińska
  5. Prof. dr hab. Andrzej Paczkowski
  6. Shana Penn
  7. Sigmunt Rolat
  8. Prof. Adam Daniel Rotfeld
  9. Ryszard Schnepf
  10. Dr. Jarosław Sellin
  11. Albert Stankowski
  12. Dr. Mateusz Szpytma
  13. Marian Turski
  14. Bronisław Wildstein
  15. Piotr Wiślicki

The Museum Council is a collective body which brings together various parties and institutions involved in the Museum’s establishment process. In addition to authorities from various fields, the Council includes prominent scholars and experts in Jewish and general history. Its role is to evaluate the Museum’s to-date achievements and determine directions for future development. The Council is also mandated to approve the final appearance and content of the Core Exhibition.