‘The Diary of Rywka Lipszyc’ awarded by POLITYKA

Polish edition of the Rywka Lipszyc diary with a prestigious award by weekly magazine POLITYKA.

The Diary of Rywka Lipszyc was awarded the Historical Award by POLITYKA, an influential weekly magazine of national and international affairs. Initiated in 1959, it’s the oldest award in Poland for publications related to the recent history of Poland. The jury is selected from distinguished Polish historians and editors at POLITYKA. Works receiving the awards over the decades have, in large part, become important parts of Polish historiography.

On 8th of May three new books were awarded the Historical Award in three different categories. The Polish edition of The Diary of Rywka Lipszyc, edited by Ewa Wiatr, won the award in the diaries and memoirs category.  The diary, written by a small girl, is one of the most unique documents of the Holocaust. Rywka described not only her everyday life in the ghetto but also her thoughts on the situation she has been put into.

The Association of the Jewish Historical Institute of Poland supported this publication thanks to a generous grant from KORET Foundation. All of this was made possible thanks to the invaluable support from Dr. Anita Friedman, President of KORET Foundation, who was closely involved in that project. POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews was the official partner of the Polish edition, and the diary was published by the Austeria publishing house.

Laureates of the other categories are: Jerzy Kochanowski in the category of academic and popular science works for Rewolucja międzypaździernikowa. Polska 1956-57 and Paweł Brykczyński, whose book Gotowi na przemoc. Mord, antysemityzm i demokracja w międzywojennej Polsce was named the best debut.





Marian Turski, the Vice-President of the Association of the Jewish Historical Institute of Poland is the Chair of the Jury of the Award. Other members of the Jury included: prof. dr hab. Włodzimierz Borodziej, prof. dr hab. Dariusz Stola, dr hab. Bożena Szaynok, prof. Wiesław Władyka i dr hab. Marcin Zaremba.